ThinkingRock Forum

To go back to http://www.trgtd.com.au
It is currently Mon Dec 22, 2014 1:16 am

All times are UTC




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 3:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 2:39 am
Posts: 2
Ok, so I'm probably the first one to use this with a composite desktop, but I was really hoping for an improvement, and that's why I tried the gamma release. See, I have dual-screens, and on 1.2.3, I get a huge window that spans both screens. If I try to resize it, it doesn't redraw, it just cuts off the important part of the window, and leaves me with lots of whitespace. So back to 2.0. Without beryl or compiz, things are fine, but all I get is a blank box with either of them turned on. I can start thinking rock, and then turn on beryl, but then certain dialog boxes don't work anymore. So for now, it's one or the other. I really love beryl, but if thinking rock proves effective, I might have to do without it for a bit.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 5:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:43 am
Posts: 11
Hm, I use TR v1.2.3 at work together with compiz on Debian Etch and haven't got any issues so far. I use KDE (and kde-window-decorator). I don't have TR 2.0gamma + compiz experience yet.

AFAICT there are some known issues with java and compiz (e.g. http://lists.freedesktop.org/archives/c ... 00224.html). I don't know the specifics tho.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: just beryl maybe
PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 4:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 2:39 am
Posts: 2
Ok, perhaps it's only beryl. I had switched window managers via the beryl-manager to compiz, and it did the same thing, but perhaps it's not beryl or compiz but my drivers or something of that nature. Are you using the beta nvidia drivers, or the standalone xgl server?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:43 am
Posts: 11
I'm using an ATI video card with AIXGL (Xorg 7.1.1 / ati_drv).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 1:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:22 am
Posts: 19
You may have the same problems i have, with me all the tabs were missing from the action screen so it appeared white. Making new tabs through options gave me back my window.

but i had no dialog problems or scaling problems...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2007 11:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2007 7:43 pm
Posts: 5
I can get TR to work if I switch to metacity, start TR, and then switch back to beryl. A bit of a pain but at least I'm not totally out of luck. :(


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2007 5:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 5:29 pm
Posts: 1
I also have problems, though I'd guess this is more of a Java problem rather than something specific to TR. This is what I get from the console:

Code:
[WinSys.PersistenceManager.getTopComponentForID] Problem when deserializing TopComponent for tcID:'OverviewTopComponent'. Reason: Top component OverviewTopComponent could not be located or loaded from Components folder.
Cannot find Overview component. It will not be located properly in the window system.


If I switch off compiz, it works, and then I can switch it back on, just as was reported by other people. This is on a standard Ubuntu Feisty Fawn install.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2007 3:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 11:12 am
Posts: 5
Just wanted to let you guys know I have the same problem:

a blank window with beryl turned on
all the functions without beryl

I am using ubuntu 7.04


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2007 6:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:43 am
Posts: 11
Pleas try the following workaround:

export AWT_TOOLKIT=MToolkit
./thinking-rock.sh

I.e. set the environment variable AWT_TOOLKIT=MToolkit and then start TR. You can add env var setting to the thinking-rock.sh script as well.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2007 8:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 07, 2007 11:03 am
Posts: 74
Location: Amsterdam, NL
zImage,

Thanks, the trick works perfectly with Ubuntu 7.04 and it's built-in desktop effects (Compiz).

charlieMOGUL


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2007 10:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 11:12 am
Posts: 5
Thank you so much, it works, with Beryl! I can't believe it...

Also works with Ubuntu 6.10!

Martin


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group